The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today that Clemson running back Travis Etienne has been named as one of 10 semifinalists for the Doak Walker Award, presented annually to the nation’s top running back. Additional information from the PwC SMU Athletic Forum is included below.


2019 Doak Walker Award Semifinalists Announced

            DALLAS – The PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2019 Doak Walker Award. The semifinalists (in alphabetical order) are:

LeVante Bellamy (Sr.)           Western Michigan

A.J. Dillon (Jr.)                     Boston College

J.K. Dobbins (Jr.)                  Ohio State

Clyde Edwards-Helaire (Jr.) LSU

Travis Etienne (Jr.)               Clemson

Kenneth Gainwell (Fr.)         Memphis

Chuba Hubbard (So.)            Oklahoma State

Xavier Jones (Sr.)                  SMU

Zack Moss (Sr.)                     Utah

Jonathan Taylor (Jr.)            Wisconsin

            To determine the 2019 finalists, members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes after this week’s games. Three finalists for the award will be named Monday, November 25. The Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast a second vote to select the 2019 award recipient. The 2019 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 12 on ESPN.

            The Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Honoring the legends of sports for 30 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which includes college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards boast 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the NCFAA.

Follow us on Twitter and on Instagram @DoakWalkerAward

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More To Explore

More To Explore

Clemson News

Clemson Remains #1 in AP Top 25 Poll

By: Zachary Wagner The new AP top 25 poll was released earlier today, and to no one’s surprise, the Clemson Tigers saw themselves sitting atop

Clemson News

New Atmosphere for Clemson Football

New Atmosphere for Clemson FootballBy Makenna Biehl     College football fans everywhere have been waiting anxiously for the 2020 football season to start this year. After

Scroll to Top