Peter Woods Named to Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Watch List

The Maxwell Football Club announced today that defensive tackle Peter Woods has been named as one of 37 candidates on the watch list for the Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award, presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding freshman. Additional information from the Maxwell Football Club is included below.

Visit the 2023 Preseason Honors hub for more preseason accolades garnered by Clemson.

August 30, 2023 – PHILADELPHIA, PA


The Maxwell Football Club today announced the watch list for the 6thannual Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award presented to the outstanding freshman player in college football. Once again, this year, the award will be presented at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala along with several of the other top awards in college and professional football.

The Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award has been presented to the College Freshman Player of the Year since 2018 and is named in honor of Shaun Alexander, a former standout at the University of Alabama and with the Seattle Seahawks in the NFL. Past winners include; Trevor Lawrence (Clemson) – 2018, Kenneth Gainwell (Memphis)-2019 and Will Anderson Jr. (Alabama) – 2020, Brock Bowers (Georgia) – 2021 and Drake Maye (North Carolina) 2022.

The Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award watch list will incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) programs and conferences from coast to coast, with 37 candidates recognized. Texas leads the way with 4 candidates followed by Alabama and Oklahoma with 3 players each. Five other schools boast 2 candidates.

Jaden RashadaArizona StateQB
JJ KohlIowa StateQB
Rueben BainMiamiDE
KevinConcepcionNC StateWR
JadenGreathouseNotre DameWR
CarnellTateOhio StateWR
Adepoju AdebaworeOklahomaED
SuntarinePerkinsOle MissLB
AydenWilliamsOle MissWR
TonyRojasPenn StateLB
NyckolesHarborSouth CarolinaATH
GraysonHowardSouth CarolinaLB
Arion CarterTennesseeLB
AnthonyHillTexas  LB
Rueben OwensTexas A&MRB

ABOUT THE MAXWELL FOOTBALL CLUB – The Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 and is the oldest football organization of its kind in America. The Club recognizes excellence in performance at the high school, collegiate and professional levels of the game. The Maxwell Club is also deeply involved and fully vested in the community through programs to promote academic excellence, community volunteerism, and leadership. High school student-athletes around the country have an opportunity to participate in MFC Showcase events, free of charge, through the generosity of our corporate partners. To learn more about our story visit

ABOUT THE SHAUN ALEXANDER FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR AWARD – The Shaun Alexander Freshman Player of the Year Award is an honor given each year to the most outstanding freshman player in college football. Named after Shaun Alexander since 2018, this award recognizes the exceptional performance and impact made by these players on their respective teams throughout the season. The winning formula evaluates players based on Talent, Character, Ambassador

and Legend. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More To Explore

More To Explore


Clemson Regional Teams Announced

Clemson Regional Teams Announced CLEMSON, S.C. – The Tigers were selected to the NCAA Tournament as the No. 6 national seed and No. 1 seed in


Tigers To Host NCAA Regional

Tigers To Host NCAA Regional CLEMSON, S.C. – The Clemson Tigers (41-14) were one of 16 programs selected to host an NCAA regional for the Division

Scroll to Top