Isaiah Simmons Named to Butkus Award Watch List




The Butkus Foundation announced today that Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons has been named to the watch list for the Butkus Award. The full watch list and additional information from the Butkus Foundation are included below.





CHICAGO – (July 22, 2019) – The Butkus Award® honoring the nation’s best linebackers kicked off its 35th annual selection process today by announcing its collegiate and high school preseason watch lists.


Each watch list contains 51 linebackers, mirroring the legendary “51” pro jersey associated with the Award’s namesake Dick Butkus, who was recognized by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history.


The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes candidates from 39 universities, including returning finalist Dylan Moses of Alabama who won the 2016 high school Butkus Award, and returning semifinalist Markus Bailey of Purdue.


The High School Butkus Award watch list includes candidates from 47 secondary schools across 22 states, with Georgia schools fielding the most candidates (6).


Semi-finalists will be named November 4, finalists November 25, and winners on or before December 10. Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement to win the award.


The 2018 Butkus Award winners:


Professional: Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears

Collegiate: Devin White, LSU (now Tampa Bay Buccaneers)

High School: Nakobe Dean, Horn Lake, Miss. (now Georgia)


Formed in 1985, the Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while supporting causes important to the Butkus family. They include the I Play Clean® initiative promoting training and nutrition instead of performance-enhancing drugs, and the Butkus Takes Heart™ initiative encouraging early cardiovascular screening among adults.


The Butkus Award, and on Facebook at 51.butkus, is presented by the nonprofit Butkus Foundation. Selectors and selection criteria are located on the official website. Search social media for #butkusaward2019.


The Butkus Award® is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.


2019 College Butkus Award Watch List:


Anfernee Jennings, Alabama

Terrell Lewis, Alabama

Dylan Moses, Alabama

Akeem Davis-Gaither, Appalachian State

Tony Fields, Arizona

Colin Schooler, Arizona

De’Jon Harris, Arkansas

Clay Johnston, Baylor

Evan Weaver, California

Isaiah Simmons, Clemson

Nate Landman, Colorado

Davion Taylor, Colorado

Sage Lewis, FIU

Dontavious Jackson, Florida State

Mykal Walker, Fresno State

K’Lavon Chaisson, LSU

Michael Divinity, LSU

Jacob Phillips, LSU

Patrick Queen, LSU

Michael Pickney, Miami (Fla.)

Shaquille Quarterman, Miami (Fla.)

Khaleke Hudson, Michigan

Joshua Uche, Michigan

Joe Bachie, Michigan State

Kamal Martin, Minnesota

Mohamed Sanogo, Mississippi

Willie Gay, Mississippi State

Erroll Thompson, Mississippi State

Cale Garrett, Missouri

Dante Olson, Montana

Mohamed Barry, Nebraska

Paddy Fisher, Northwestern

Tuf Borland, Ohio State

Malik Harrison, Ohio State

Kenneth Murray, Oklahoma

Calvin Bundage, Oklahoma State

Troy Dye, Oregon

Cameron Brown, Penn State

Micah Parsons, Penn State

Markus Bailey, Purdue

Kyahva Tezino, San Diego State

T.J. Brunson, South Carolina

Chapelle Russell, Temple

Darrell Taylor, Tennessee

Jordyn Brooks, Texas Tech

Javin White, UNLV

David Woodward, Utah State

Charles Snowden, Virginia

Justin Strnad, Wake Forest

Zack Baun, Wisconsin

Logan Wilson, Wyoming



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More To Explore

More To Explore

Clemson News

Clemson Football 2021: Linebackers

Linebackers routinely lead their team in tackles. The leading tackler on Clemson was Baylon Spector with 72 total tackles. It doesn’t seem like a lot

Scroll to Top